Jilly Chili

If you’re looking for a way to eat more beans this is a great recipe. And an excellent way to warm up after a day of snowboarding (or maybe that’s just wishful thinking on my part after yesterdays snow ;)).

To make some Jilly Chili you will need:

  • 1 lb ground beef (or ground turkey)
  • 28oz can crushed tomatoes
  • 8oz can tomato sauce
  • 3 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1/2 an onion, finely diced
  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • 2 Tbsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 2 Tbsp brown sugar
  • salt & pepper
  • 15oz can kidney beans

In a large frying pan, brown the ground beef. Drain off the fat.

Push the beef to the side and then sauté your onions and garlic until translucent. Pour all this into your slow cooker.

 Add chili powder, cumin, salt, pepper, and brown sugar.

Stir this together then add tomatoes, tomato sauce, and beans.

Don’t forget the green peppers like I almost did!

Put the lid on the slowcooker and set on low for 8hr. Or if you don’t have a slowcooker just cook on the stove for 4hr on low. Enjoy!!

the final product

Check out the steam!!

Side note – after eating chili (a.k.a. picking out the beans and eating only the hamburger chunks) once a week my whole childhood I never touched it for the past 7 years when I lived on my own… Dad, I’m sorry I dissed your chili for so long. I didn’t know what I was missing 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

