Lemon Loaf on a wintery day

source

Hope the Easter Bunny found all of you! Dave and I somehow forgot to put out our baskets, but the Bunny made a late delivery yesterday and now I have some Mini-Eggs to munch on, yay!

Dave and I hosted his parents and one of his friends here for the Masters yesterday. Since I love entertaining so much, earlier in the week I had planned on this spring/warm weather meal with a nice light dessert. Springtime just isn’t the right time to make something heavy/full of chocolate, so I thought that a lemon loaf would be this perfect sunny, warm, Easter treat. I bought all my ingredients early in the week, and then woke up to this yesterday morning…

Just 12cm on snow in April... no big dealYup, a freak snowstorm rolled through overnight and dropped 12cm of snow on us! Normally I’m a huge fan of snow in the fall/winter so that I can snowboard, but once the hills close for the season I’m looking forward to Spring 🙂

Anyway, I made my lemon loaf and bbqed pulled pork with baked macaroni & cheese and it was all a big hit  🙂

If you ever have to go to a potluck or a family event this would be the perfect dessert because it travels so well. It also makes a great hostess gift for someone too!

LEMON LOAF

  • 1/2 cup shortening, softened
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs, well beaten
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 lemon, grated rind and juiced
  • 2 Tbsp. sugar

Preheat oven to 340°. Mix together shortening, sugar, and eggs. In a seperate bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, and salt. Add the dry ingredients into the shortening mixture, along with the milk, lemon rind, and 1 Tbsp of the lemon juice. Mix together lightly until all the dry ingredients are absorbed. Pour into a greased loaf pan. Bake for 1 hour or until done (mine was about 50 minutes). Once done, remove from oven and let cool in the pan for 10 min. Meanwhile, mix in a small bowl the remaining lemon juice and 2 Tbsp of sugar. Microwave this for 30sec until the sugar is dissolved, then pour this over the loaf.

*Easiest way to see if the loaf is done is to insert a toothpick into the middle of the loaf. When you pull it out if nothing is sticking to it then the loaf is done. If there is batter on the toothpick, it needs more time.

And when you’re all done you’ll have this to enjoy:

ta-da!

On a side note, I went to the gym yesterday and did a full body circut. I thought the gym was going to be closed so I was pumped when I looked on their website and they were open! It was the most well-rounded circut I have done recently, it hit every major muscle group and didn’t require a ton of equipment. Sadly, I didn’t write down where I found it so I can’t link to it. Once I remember where I got it I’ll be sure to let you know!

Did you watch the Masters yesterday? Were you cheering for anyone? I was hoping for Bubba, he just seems so down-to-earth and I liked how emotional he was, I know I would be the exact same way!

What was the best part of your Easter? I didn’t expect to be off from work, so it was nice to be home for a couple days with Dave!

One thought on “Lemon Loaf on a wintery day

Leave a Reply

